Melissa Croce


Melissa Croce is a writer whose viral tweet about a satirical brochure detailing her life as a single woman evolved into a debut nonfiction humor book, Single and Forced to Mingle, which is published by Atria Books (Simon & Schuster).


Single and Forced to Mingle

A laugh-out-loud, tongue-in-cheek guidebook filled with hilarious and helpful advice—from how to dodge family members’ unwanted questions about babies to successfully creating a fake partner during wedding season—for anyone trying to survive and thrive in the midst of singledom. Perfect for fans of Hey Ladies! and Single State of Mind.


Praise for Single and Forced to Mingle:

"This tongue-in-cheek guidebook is full of hilarious, but also very helpful, advice for all singles out there." —Cosmopolitan

"Not only is the book a funny, lighthearted, tongue-in-cheek guidebook on dating (or rather, the lack thereof), it’s a wonderful book on building comfort in being by yourself." —The Mary Sue

"It’s a fun, breezy read, and Croce is an entertaining writer… Who it’s for: People who like Buzzfeed quizzes; anyone who misses the Internet culture of 2015; anyone who has gone to more than three baby showers and/or engagement parties in a three month period." —The Boston Globe

"Croce is here to offer fun and helpful advice to both those who are single by choice and by chance in this guidebook that is perfect for the unpaired Millennial… A perfect companion piece for Rebecca Traister’s All the Single Ladies.” —Booklist

“Croce debuts with a bright and witty guidebook for living the single life...The smart and irreverent advice will be welcomed by readers who love living solo.” —Publishers Weekly


About Melissa

Originally hailing from the Pacific Northwest, Melissa currently resides in New York, where she works in publishing, marketing books to librarians.

When she’s not working, she can be found reading tarot cards, watching hockey games, and spending way too much time on the internet, which is how Single and Forced to Mingle came to be.


News & Media

Single and Forced to Mingle: A hilarious guide for singles AND their nosy relatives via New Day Northwest

How to thrive and survive being single during the pandemic via Good Morning America

Author Melissa Croce talks dating during the pandemic via Pix11 News

Podcast Interview: January 8, 2021 via Thoughts from a Page Podcast

Pocast Interview: January 7, 2021 via Start Inspired Podcast

Podcast Interview: January 6, 2021 via Bodice Tipplers Podcast

"Single and Forced to Mingle" Virtual Launch Event with Hannah Orenstein: January 6, 2021 via The Ripped Bodice Bookstore

10 Questions for Melissa Croce via Booklist

25 new book releases we’re most excited for January 2021 via The Tempest

10 Perfectly Absurd Responses to the Question “Why are You Single?” by Melissa Croce via Frolic Media

9 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in January via PureWow

New Year, New You: Start the New Year Strong with these Badass Books via Badass Women's Book Club

Single and Forced to Mingle: Living the Single Life via Life Meets Literature

Author Interview and Book Feature via the Hasty Book List

20 Brand New Books That'll Keep You Company During the Cold Winter via Cosmopolitan

Significant Self: PW Talks with Melissa Croce via Publishers Weekly

"The viral 'Why I'm Single' woman" via Good Morning America

This Woman Made A "Why I'm Single" Brochure To Hand Out At Her Cousin's Wedding And It's Hilarious via Buzzfeed

Woman Writes Sassy 'Why I'm Single' Brochures for Wedding and Twitter is Loving It via Newsweek

The Internet Is Loving This Woman's "Why I'm Single" Brochure via Refinery29

Woman creates 'Why I'm Single' brochure to hand out at cousin's wedding and becomes an instant viral sensation. via UpWorthy


Contact Melissa

Melissa is represented by Jon Michael Darga at Aevitas Creative Management.

You can also find her at any of the below platforms.

Photo Credit: Caitlin Kidder